Glazed Blood Orange and Brown Sugar Buttermilk Pound Cake

blood_orange_buttermilk_pound_cake

Another citrus cake – I know, but I do rather love making them. I love the bright, sharp flavours and that both the zest and juice can be integrated into such a flavourful and comforting slice. And buttermilk again too!  I’ve said in an earlier post how I always have it and/or sour cream in the fridge just because I find them both so useful and both have a relatively long shelf life too. Buttermilk is wonderful in bakes and does a fabulous job of tenderising meat and poultry. Since I have discovered that you can buy 1L cartons of buttermilk from the many Eastern European grocery stores that have popped in this part of London, I always seem to have some the fridge.

When my son had just started senior school, I went through a phase of baking a cake every Sunday so that he could take a slice to have at break rather than buying something full of trans fats and preservatives from the tuck shop. Banana cakes, carrot cakes, date and fig cakes, lemon and almond cakes, fruit and oatmeal muffins  – it was always something chock full of good things as well as eggs and butter! He quite often asked if he could take some for his friends which, obviously, I was delighted to accommodate! Now, alas, he is further up the school chain and has no room in his bag which is absolutely stuffed with school books, to take food of any kind in with him. That also means no more packed lunches – not something that I am sorry to see the back of. Now I seem to bake a cake at the start of the weekends, just so that there is a slice of something to offer with a cup of tea if someone (his friends or mine) were to drop by. I do write a food blog after all and it’s probably expected!

So to use up the last of the blood oranges, I have adapted a basic recipe for Pound Cake of which I have many fond memories from my teenage years. A slice of pound cake topped with sliced and macerated strawberries and a squirt of Cool Whip was the finale to many a summer picnic and barbecue when I lived in Canada. If you are unable to lay your hands on buttermilk, you may substitute yoghurt instead. And instead of blood oranges, you could use normal ones or even lemons. You can also use white caster sugar rather than the golden and muscovado sugars. Just keep the proportions the same and you will have a lovely, dense, aromatic cake which will keep for quite a few days in the cake tin.

blood_orange_buttermilk_pound_cake

blood_orange_buttermilk_pound_cake

Messing about with a new app on my phone – Waterlogue

This is one recipe which requires the butter to be really soft in order to cream well with the sugars. Once that is done, whisk in the eggs, one by one and then stir in the grated zest. Juice the orange and add to the buttermilk along with the vanilla.

blood_orange_buttermilk_pound_cake

Blend in a third of the flour mixture, then half the buttermilk mixture alternating until everything is used up but keeping a light touch throughout this part of the process. Scrape the batter into a prepared loaf tin and bake!

blood_orange_buttermilk_pound_cake

blood_orange_buttermilk_pound_cake

Prepare the glaze by starting with 30ml of juice – I made mine much too runny by over confidently adding all the juice of half an orange. Glazes should be quite thick, I feel. Once cooled, glaze, slice and enjoy!

blood_orange_buttermilk_pound_cake

Glazed Blood Orange Buttermilk and Brown Sugar Pound Cake

  • Servings: 8-10 slices
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

INGREDIENTS

  • 230g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 115 g unsalted, very soft, butter
  • 150 g golden caster sugar
  • 50 g light muscavado sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • zest of 2 blood oranges
  • 120 ml butter milk
  • Juice of one orange which was approx 50-60 ml
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract/paste or the seeds of one pod

Glaze

  • 30 – 45 ml blood orange juice
  • 60g icing sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 170 C/325F and paper or butter a 2lb loaf tin
  2. Aerate and mix the flour, baking soda and salt with a whisk and set aside
  3. Cream together the soft butter and sugar
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time and mixing well between each. Add a spoonful of the flour if it looks as though it’s going to curdle – not that it make any difference to the end product.
  5. Stir in the zest.
  6. Mix together the milk, the  juice and the vanilla in a jug and set aside.
  7. Blend in a ⅓ of the flour mix into the batter using a light touch.
  8. Stir in half the buttermilk/orange juice mix and so on – you should finish with the flour mix. Don’t over beat.
  9. Scrape the batter into a loaf pan and bake for an hour. It will be quite dark from the brown sugar and when you insert a toothpick in the middle, it should come out clean.
  10. Leave to cool in the tin for 10 mins, then remove to a rack to cool completely
  11. Mix the glaze ingredients together to a fairly thick consistency and pour over the cooled cake.

47 thoughts on “Glazed Blood Orange and Brown Sugar Buttermilk Pound Cake

  1. What amazing photos and a solid, scrumptious recipe. I love all of your gorgeous loaf cakes; I dub you the Queen of Fantastic Cakes! This is such an inventive and fresh spin on your beloved childhood pound cake with macerated strawberries and whipped cream. Your son is going to be very popular at his Senior School if he shares your scrumptious goodies. You are a great mom! PS I am enjoying season *THREE* of Sherlock. You have created a monster, Selma. ;-) Best, Shanna

    Like

    • Shanna, you always say the nicest things too!! Glad you liked the photos – I couldn’t really concentrate when it came to the finished bake because there was too much going on around me and the light was fading but I managed to get a couple of nice ones. I am so please that you are enjoying Sherlock!! What are you going to do when you finish Season 3 which is very short? Have you managed to find Parade’s End? I have binged my way through S1 of House of Cards and having a breather now…xxx

      Like

      • Selma, Parade’s End is on my “to watch list,” it looks brilliant. Call the Midwives, another BBC drama, is returning March 30 to the US “PBS.” Oh, S2 HOC is now available… we completely binged on it! :-) Your photos are beautiful and the lighting seems perfect; you did well. Take good care, Shanna

        Like

  2. That looks sooooo gorgeous, the flavours sound wonderful and the photos are fab!!! I’m still in the packed lunch phase and happy to be able to control Ben’s intake!! No doubt that will change soon enough…. 😳 I wonder if I could try using the chestnut flour I bought for something like this and reduce the sugar?

    Like

    • I might have to restart the packed lunches as recently he’s been skipping lunch because of clubs or long queues. He comes home starving and crabby!! Re the subs – It’s worth a try. You could use Agave nectar but then you would have to adjust the liquid downwards or add more flour. Xx

      Like

      • Okay, I’ll have a ponder xx
        I know that one re food at school, that’s why I’m determined to keep the pack ups going for as long as possible, the queues in the canteen get so long and the older kids just push the little ones out of the line!

        Like

        • He does but he’s also terribly social and out all the time – though he is grounded now for 2 weeks – he got home at 1.15am (!!!!) on Friday night because he left his friends place at 11.30 and public transport is super across London at that time. Even though he kept texting me to tell me what was going on I was still worried/furious and then couldn’t get to sleep. He needs to stay in and revise for GCSE’s anyway and eat my cakes!!!

          Like

          • Ha, oh dear! I can still remember the look on my mother’s face the first time i did that. We left a friends house in Hackney the other night and somehow it took us an hour and a half to get from their door to Victoria train station. The joy of transport!

            Like

            • We are so lucky to have public transport and having lived where car is king, I will always be grateful for that and mobile phones too. How did we cope without being in constant contact with our parents – oh yes – that would be curfews that we had to stick to or else!!

              Like

  3. Pingback: Why we blog.. Selma’s Table | foodbod

  4. This looks and sounds amazing! Looking forward to perusing your blog and looking at more goodies. Thanks to Elaine over at Foodbod, I connected to this blog.

    Isn’t blogging just a fun art? :)

    Like

    • Thank you so much! What a fascinating life you lead…I am so looking forward to following your adventures – thanks so much for stopping by which has led me to you! And how amazing is Elaine….

      Like

  5. I am not sure how I missed this lovely pound cake (with my beloved Blood Oranges) but just wanted you to know how much I love your recipe…I shall try it with my few remaining blood oranges…and your story.

    Like

I would so love to hear from you - please do leave a comment! (Your email address will not be visible.) Selma

