Walnut & Date Scones

Walnut & Date Scones | Selma's TableI was leafing through some magazines at the dentist’s the other day, more as a distraction than anything else, trying hard to quell the rising panic in my throat that this particular branch of health care seems to provoke in me. All I could think about as I nervously leafed through those pages was whether I was going to walk out or be brave and see the appointment through. Thankfully the drill was silent or I would have most probably left. You will laugh if I tell you that it was for a scale and polish but there is something about that clinical smell, the clang of sharp instruments, the sound of that God awful suction machine and that big bright overhead lamp that just makes my skin crawl and reduces me to a whimpering child. I got through it, of course I did, but not without a great deal of trepidation first. If anyone deserved a star, a sticker and obviously a gold medal, it was me, I can tell you.

Walnut & Date Scones | Selma's TableSomehow, despite the rising panic in that waiting room, I registered a picture of walnut topped pastries that popped back in my head when I got home. Well, Celia’s International Scone Week had got it’s hold on me so I had a rummage in the pantry and made these scones based on the Feta, Sun dried Tomato and Thyme Scones I posted last week. This time round, I separated the wedges which made them bake faster and added chopped walnuts and dates to the flour mixture. To heighten the walnut flavour, I also added a little walnut oil to the dough. They are really lovely with a soft cheese and quince or fig jam. The dates lend just enough of  a hint of sweetness that goes so well with walnuts. Remember to handle the dough as little as possible to ensure that you have a nice crumbly scone.

Walnut and Date Scones

  • Servings: 8 scones
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

INGREDIENTS

  • 225 g plain flour/AP flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • pinch fine salt
  • 50 g chopped walnuts
  • 50 g chopped ready to eat dates
  • 30 ml Mrs Middleton’s rapeseed or a light olive oil
  • 20 ml walnut oil
  • 125 ml milk
  • a little extra milk to glaze
  • 8 walnut halves to decorate

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pre-heat oven to 225 C/ 440F. Line baking sheet with baking parchment and sprinkle over a little flour.
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt really well to make sure that all the ingredients are well incorporated.
  3. Stir in the chopped walnuts and dates ensuring that all are well coated in flour. This stops them sinking to the bottom.
  4. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the oils and the milk.
  5. Using the table knife and a light hand, mix in the bowl until the flour has been incorporated.
  6. Lightly flour or oil your fingers and push into a ball shape in the mixing bowl then turn out straight onto the prepared baking sheet.
  7. Pat down gently into a circular shape until it is 1 inch in height.
  8. Using a pizza wheel or a knife, cut into 8 triangles.
  9. Pull the wedges apart and brush the tops with a little milk. Set a walnut half on top of each one.
  10. Bake for 15 minutes until golden

Lovely served warm, with a little blue cheese and membrillo (quince paste) or brie/goats cheese and fig jam.

© Selma Jeevanjee and Selma’s Table, 2013, 2014. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material, including photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Selma Jeevanjee and Selma’s Table with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

65 thoughts on “Walnut & Date Scones

  1. Ooooooohh, that would be so nice with a big mug of tea. I really like membrillo and my friend gave me a wonderful piece at Christmas, homemade from her own quinces!
    I’m really tempted to try these (and just change it to dairy-free milk) when the kids are back in school as an after-school treat. Printing as I type :-)

    Like

  2. I’m with you on the dreaded dentist experience, Selma. And I’m also with you on the wakening of the scone making monster! Am seriously considering making another batch myself. Yours sound delicious!

    Like

  3. Sigh. I have a dentist appointment next week. Words cannot express how much I do NOT want to go. Maybe I’l just think about these lovely scones instead while I’m in the chair;happy thoughts.

    These scones look wonderful,Selma. ;-)

    Like

    • Oh, Jess, I feel for you and hope it went well. I find myself all tensed up, shoulders hunched up around my ears, mouth in some sort of rictus, blinded by the light and telling myself to relax…which works for about a minute before the shoulders start their ascent…

      Like

  4. I wanted to bake scones for International Scones week, but if I make a batch, I’m liable to eat them all, since my husband won’t partake. I will just have to feast my eyes on your beauties. And what?! You don’t love the dentist? :) I do like going to the dentist, but can do without the smell.

    Like

    • Thanks Ngan and sorry for the late reply x You could always bake and freeze them as they are better warm anyway! I am surprised by how many people have commented that they do like the dentist – you all have wonderful smiles and beautiful pearly whites. I have a nice smile but it is punctuated by crooked gravestone like teeth if I forget to keep my lips clamped together!!

      Like

    • Thanks SSP!! It’s a great combination and wonderful with cheese. Lots of us who don’t like going to the dentist in these comments but a surprising few who do and have wonderful relationships with those wielders of torturous instruments!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the date-walnut combination and I love scones so this recipe is a keeper.

    I may be in the minority here but I have no fear of going to the dentist. Dr. H, to whom I have been going to since time immemorial, keeps it simple and as painless as possible. As a bonus, Dr. A who has joined his practice is a fabulous baker and now a friend so I often get a share of the goodies she bakes, which means more trips to the dentist than is necessary. :-) :-)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am terrified of dentists, that pronged thing they poke in your teeth makes me cringe as does the drill and the needle UGH, I have a serious phobia. Anyway, to a pleasant subject those scones, delicious, they look and sound wonderful. Dates and walnuts are heavenly,

    Like

    • Suzanne, you and me both – phobia united!! When I had to get my last two wisdom teeth out, I actually elected to get them done under general anaesthetic. The experience of the one I had out as an out-patient was terrible and I would rather take my chances with anaesthesia than go through that again…Scones with the dates and walnuts are fab with cheese!

      Like

  7. I’m sorry, beautiful Selma, that the dentist does this to you. I believe that such a situation only exists where as a child you have a bad experience – whether you remember it or not. I’m truly lucky: I dote on my dentist, and positively look forward to seeing him ! (but I also dote on my GP and my optometrist – how’s that for luck ?!).
    Gorgeous-looking scones: I am going to have to get back to making scones, as they have always been something I can cook !

    Like

    • Thank you Margaret Rose – I did spend rather a lot of time in the dentist’s chair when I was young – really awful crooked teeth but he was a crook and despite a lot of money and time that was invested, he didn’t make much of a difference and scarped off to Germany unexpectedly and for ever!! Lucky you doting on your practitioners – I do rather love my GP – she even phones me sometimes to make sure Jake and I are ok!!

      Like

  8. Yes, you are right, if someone deserves a star, it would so be you…. lots of stars. :)
    I am glad you got this recipe from the dentist’s office as this might be the positive experience you will remember next time you have an appointment :)

    Love your scones, Selma. If I am to bake my next scones, it will definitely be one of your recipes :)

    Like

    • Thank you for my stars Pang!! Funny how that photo somehow managed to pierce the panic in my mind and stay there! I would love to see how you would make and style scones – you would make them look amazing!

      Like

  9. I am not a big fan of the dentist either. I would go to a children’s dentist if I could and come out of there with a lollipop to make me feel better! Your scones look so delicious, I wish I had one now. :)

    Like

    • I’d just be happy with the sticker!! At my mum’s dentist, they have a small screen set in the ceiling and you can watch whatever you want while he gently pokes about! He is just so lovely and I always try and see him whenever I visit her.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Walnuts & dates! What a great combination and especially with membrillo!!! I looove membrillo with the soft cheese from Galicia called “tetilla”, literally translated as little boob hahaha!! When we lived in Galicia, my father in law always had it available in the fridge! Oh Selma, you may think I am weird but I do love going to the dentist! Probably because I’ve never had to have any serious work done…that might just change it. My dentist in the UK used to ask me to eat more sweets or she’d run out of business! Haha! xx

    Like

    • Oh, how funny about your English dentist, Farianti – mine probably feels the same way about my son – he’s never needed a filling although he did have braces but that was ortho rather than this chap. I once had to have a wisdom tooth out as in out-patient in the hospital and do you know, I noticed that they kept picking up a file and then putting it down and calling out the name from the next one – yup, it was mine that they kept dropping!! Love the booby cheese – must remember that when we are next in Spain xx

      Like

  11. Oh Selma, you brave girl. I once sat in the dentist parking lot and thought up excuses as to why I was going my miss my dental appointment. The winning excuse ….”I have the measles and I’m contagious.” But reason prevailed and I got out of my car and went to the appointment. I’m sure women have the same response to seeing me for their gyno appointment. Scones, yum

    Like

    • Well, I must say that this post has been a revelation – so many of us who really have to steel ourselves to get in that chair!! And a few who really enjoy it! Have to say that gyno appointments are not my favourite either!! xx

      Like

  12. Pingback: Walnut and Date Scones and Feta Sundried Tomato and Thyme Scones | whysimpleisbetter

I would so love to hear from you - please do leave a comment! (Your email address will not be visible.) Selma

